The first settlers of Mayantoc before the coming of the Christian migrants were the Negritos of the Abelling tribe. As the former arrived in great number, the natives were soon forced to move deeper into the forest areas of Zambales Mountain Range.
The Christian settlers, mostly from Ilocos region (notably the towns of Cabugao, Tagudin, Sarrat, Paoay, Sinait and Bacarra), settled in the villages in the southern portion of a then Christian town Camiling, now acknowledged as the mother town of Mayanatoc. The place was then a forested area where enormous rattan palms are found.
In 1899, Mayantoc was created as a barrio of Camiling and was inaugurated into a town on January 1, 1917 with Don Francisco Santos y Pascual, the founder of the town, as its first Municipal President.
In this historical town, General Francisco Macabulos established his military hide out during the revolutionary government.
Mayantoc is a serene hamlet whose hallow ground is a picturesque of natural calm and serendipity. Geographically landscaped with graceful hills and mountains, its falls and streams are breathtakingly gasping and awesome. Aptly, Mayantoc is called as the Summer Capital of Tarlac. A potential tourism destination, the town’s sightseeing treasures and attractions need to be nurtured and discovered.